Red Cabbage and Mint Salad

Another recipe from our trip to Darwin. A colourful dish for Christmas and appropriate for our hot weather.
Ingredients and Method
500 gm red cabbage, finely shredded
2 medium carrots, peeled and peeled into ribbons
100 gm baby rocket, torn
20 mint leaves, torn
3 green onions, finely sliced
Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl.
Dressing
2 Tbsp lemon juice
2 Tbsp Balsamic vinegar
2 Tbsp olive oil
Place all the dressing ingredients in a jar with a lid. Shake well to mix.
Pour over the salad.
Serves 6 people.

About heatherlamont

I was brought up in the Belgium Congo (DRC). Trained as a nurse and midwife in England with tropical diseases from Liverpool University. Married Tony Lamont in Rhodesia (Zimbabwe). Lived in England for 20 years. Wrote GOURMET VEGAN published by Gollancz. Moved to Australia in 1995. Tony and I now live on a farm in Queensland Australia.
This entry was posted in Salad, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Red Cabbage and Mint Salad

  1. Joanne says:

    Hello Heather, I’m a UK-based journalist writing a book – it’s a collection of vegan recipes – and I’m really interested in talking to you, with a view to including your comments in my book. Would you mind giving me your email address so I can send you some details and you can see what you think? Many thanks, Jo.

    • Dear Jo,
      Thank you for taking an interest in my blog. I will be very happy to co-operate with you over your book.
      In 1988 I wrote a vegan book called The Gourmet Vegan, published by Victor Gallancz but long out of print. I do know that there is a copy in the Bodleian Library, Oxford.
      My e-mail address is heatherlamontneebeardsmore@gmail.com. If you have any problems with it please contact me again or send me your e-mail address.
      Looking forward to hearing from you,
      Heather

Leave a Reply

