Roasted Pumpkin and Garlic Soup

My husband made this soup for use last evening. The soup has a sweet taste.
Ingredients
2 Tblsp olive oil
700 gm 11/2 lb pumpkin of choice, peeled and cut into wedges
2 brown onions, peeled and cut into wedges
2 cloves garlic, peeled
100 ml 4 fl ozs syrup
salt and pepper to taste
1 Lt 1 1/2 pt vegetable stock
250 ml 8 fl ozs soy cream
for topping
1Tbls marjoram, chopped,
250 ml 8 fl ozs soy milk
4 or more bread baps to serve, or bread type of choice
Method
Pre heat the oven to 180 C, 350 F, Gas Mark 4. Put the oil, pumpkin, onion, garlic, syrup, salt and pepper in a bowl and toss to combine. Place on a baking tray and bake for 30 minutes, until the the pumpkin is tender and cooked through. Place all the ingredients in a blender and puree until smooth.
Put the pumpkin mix in a saucepan and bring to the boil. Simmer for 3 inutes until it starts to thicken.
Ladle the soup into 4 bowls and top with the marjoram and soy milk mix.
Serve with warmed baps.
Serves 4 people.
The ingredients can be frozen after roasting and the soup completed at a later date.

About heatherlamont

I was brought up in the Belgium Congo (DRC). Trained as a nurse and midwife in England with tropical diseases from Liverpool University. Married Tony Lamont in Rhodesia (Zimbabwe). Lived in England for 20 years. Wrote GOURMET VEGAN published by Gollancz. Moved to Australia in 1995. Tony and I now live on a farm in Queensland Australia.
This entry was posted in Soup and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Roasted Pumpkin and Garlic Soup

  1. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and checking out “Meet Celeste”. It means a lot to me when someone takes the time to read my story and find out who I am. I appreciate it! I’ve been having fun checking out your blog the past couple of days. You’ve got a wealth of wonderful recipes! I’ve decided to start following you. Celeste:)

    • Thanks Celeste. So pleased that you like my blog. Years ago I wrote “Gourmet Vegan” published by Gollanz but it is long out of date. I also wrote Vegan Recipes from Many Lands but sadly Olivier Gollanz died and it never got published. I’m still asked if I have any copies of my book so my son set me up with my blog three years ago and I have sent out over 450 recipes to date. Heather

      • That’s awesome that you wrote a book! I’ve got dreams and goals about writing a book one day, hopefully I can make it happen. It’s been so nice to e-connect with you Heather. Celeste:)

Leave a Reply

