Shiitake Soup

This recipe came from a friend in the States but has a very Asian flavour.
Ingredients
3 ozs 75 gms dried shiitake mushrooms
3 tsp sesame oil
4 shallots, thinly sliced
2 Tblsp soy sauce
2 tsp Tabasco sauce
1 1/2 pts 1 Lt vegetable stock
Method
In a large bowl place the mushrooms and pour 1/4 pt 300 mls of boiling water over them. Allow to soak for 30 minutes then drain keeping the fluid as part of the stock.
Heat 1 tsp of sesame oil in a large pan. Add the mushrooms and shallots. Sauté for 7 minutes or until the edges of the shallots begin to brown.
Whisk together the remaining 2 tsp of sesame oil with the soy sauce and Tabasco sauce in a small bowl. Pour over the mushrooms and shallots and stir to coat.
Add the stock and bring to the boil. Simmer for 15 minutes.
Serves 4 people.
Serve hot with a spoon of soy yoghurt patterned on the top. The yoghurt also helps to tone down the spiciness.

This entry was posted in Soup and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shiitake Soup

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    MMM – I’ve been eating lots of homemade soup for lunch these days, to make sure I get all my veggies. I’ve been amazed at how delicious it all is! Just posted a good mushroom soup myself. Will try yours next 🙂

    • Thank you Vinny, I have just looked at your blog and it is awesome; full of great ideas far superior to my simple recipes and occasional home taken photos but we are both getting the message out there that it is easy and fun to eat healthily. Please feel free to use my recipes but include my name if you do.Thanks, Heather.

  2. I recently learned how healthful shiitake mushrooms are supposed to be for you, so I searched for some recipes. This soup looks really good – I’m going to try it next week!

    • Hope your soup lives up to expectations. There are many types of mushrooms and they are full of protein and flavour. For a quick snack I often slice button mushrooms into a bowl with a nob of vegan margarine and a crushed clove of garlic, microwave for a minute and pile them onto toast. Delicious and filling.

Leave a Reply

